Monday, June 27, 2016

BRINGING FRANKENSTEIN BACK TO LIFE, 200 YEARS LATER


ILLUSTRATIONS FROM RESTLESS BOOKS' REISSUE OF THE GOTHIC CLASSIC: Literary Hub

ARTIST STATEMENT BY EKO
Mary Shelley wrote Frankenstein as the scientist M. Cloquet explained in 1816 his Treatise on Descriptive Anatomy, “with scalpel in hand.” I’m drawing the construction of the human being with a pen as sharp as a scalpel, dismembering it in order to create a new body. The Greek artifex challenges the gods once more, and the imagination creates something out of nothing: a humanoid and its story. In this series of ink drawings I use as a base the pages of a French anatomy book from the period during which Mary Shelley wrote her novel; the paper is an artistic setting, historic and aesthetic, and the information and the forms of the letters are Dr. Victor Frankenstein’s laboratory. With my drawings I continue Dr. Frankenstein’s line of thinking and ask the same questions he asks: Is it right for science to create human beings? Is that “creature,” that “monster” the consequence of human arrogance? Is being familiar with anatomy enough to know what it means to be human? Francisco de Goya writes on one of his etchings, “The sleep of reason produces monsters.” This monster is formed with human parts and comes to life with the force of electric energy—but still isn’t human. It’s the product of dreaming, of a delirious mentality. He doesn’t even exist; he is the fear that we have of our own work. My drawings, like the mind of Dr. Frankenstein, start with the delusion of reason. (Traducción de Jackson Saul)













EKO, MANIFIESTO ARTÍSTICO
Mary Shelley escribió Frankenstein como el científico M. Cloquet  desarrolló en 1816 su Tratado de Anatomía Descriptiva, “con el escalpelo en la mano”. Estoy dibujando la construcción de un ser humano con una pluma tan filosa como un escalpelo, desmembrándolo para lograr crear un cuerpo nuevo. El artifex griego vuelve a retar a los dioses, la imaginación crea algo a partir de la nada: un humanoide y su historia. En esta serie de dibujos a tinta uso como soporte las páginas de un tratado francés de anatomía de la época en la que Mary Shelley escribió su novela, el papel es un escenario artístico, histórico y estético, la información y las formas de las letras son el laboratorio del doctor Victor Frankenstein. Con mis dibujos sigo el pensamiento del doctor Frankenstein  y hago las mismas preguntas que él se hizo ¿Es válido que la ciencia haga seres humanos? ¿Esa “criatura” ese “monstruo” es la consecuencia de la arrogancia humana? ¿Es suficiente conocer la anatomía del cuerpo para saber qué es un ser humano? Francisco de Goya escribe en uno de sus grabados “El sueño de la razón produce monstruos”. El monstruo está formado con partes humanas, adquiere vida con la fuerza de la energía eléctrica y sin embargo no es humano. Es producto del sueño, del delirio de una mente, no existe, él es el miedo que tenemos a nuestras propias obras. Mis dibujos, como la mente del doctor Frankenstein entran en el delirio de la razón.     


15 comments:

  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Dí lo tuyo